Good News Friday

Writing up our birth story has been incredibly therapeutic. But whenever I relate Mr Boo’s story, I always feel dissatisfied. In some ways, it’s much easier to do this in print than in person. That way you don’t have to deal with the emotions of others. I know how selfish that sounds. But however I tell Mr Boo’s story, I know how inadequate the facts (meningitis, PVL, infantile spasms, vision problems, developmental delay, cerebral palsy) are to our experience. Life is hard (whose isn’t?), the appointments are relentless and draining, the worry sometimes paralyses me. But our lives are full of fun, laughter and great pride.

So, in part to remind myself of this and, if this doesn’t sound presumptious, to offer hope to and to show solidarity with other parents of prem or special needs babies, I have decided to make Fridays ‘Good News’ days.

My intention is to celebrate the good things in our week. My hope, if others find and like this blog in the future, is that it they will feel free to share their good news too in the comments section so we can all go into the weekend a little buoyed up.

The good news for Mr Boo this week is that his bronchiolitis (his third bout since Christmas) has almost gone. This means we are all sleeping better. (Six hours straight last night for the second time in a year! Yay!) It also means we can get stuck into the daily physio we do at home and work on those inchstones, as I’ve learned to think about them.

In more good news, at our fortnightly physio appointment on Thursday, Mr Boo was showing some small but significant steps forward. His head control (pretty good but not perfect) is improving, he is starting to self-correct when tilted in a sitting position and even putting hisoften uncooperative arms out to balance. They seem sure he will sit independently now. His weight-beairing was described as impressive. He is even trying to creep. This is HUGE!

The best news, though, is that he is back to his super happy, giggly, amazingly contented and determined self.  He has loved that Sissyboo is on school holidays and she has encouraged him in ways that no physio could, with love and an intense bond that makes me happy every day.

I hope you have some good news, too. I’d love to hear it!

4 thoughts on “Good News Friday

  1. Christina E (@Beadzoid)

    Fantastic news! Every milestone is such a triumph 🙂

    And what a lovely idea. Mummy From the Heart does something on a similar note with her Reasons to Be Cheerful. I like the preemie slant on Good News Friday – I will try and join in this coming week 🙂 x

    Reply
    1. mrboosmum Post author

      Wonderful. So pleased you like this idea and please do join in. I get just as buoyed up by pthers’ news as our own. I don’t know Mummy from the Heart. Headed there now!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

