Good News Friday #6

I had fully expected to tell you in the (really-how-can-that-be?) 6th Good News Friday that my good news was that Mr Boo had been discharged from one of the gazillion clinics he attends and that I had got my work mojo back and was a model of professional efficiency. But none of that happened. Instead, I spent most of the week 1) getting mad about Collin Brewer (enough said by me about him this week on the blog and on Twitter, so I’ll spare you), 2) moved by the amazing blogs and tweets about International Kangaroo Care Awareness Day on Wednesday, 3) taking Mr Boo’s glasses out of his mouth, and 4) working until the middle of the night most nights to make up for time spent getting mad, moved and reuniting Mr Boo’s glasses with his ears when I should have been concentrating harder on the stuff that pays the bills. But there has been good news and this is the main one, for me: Mr Boo got his MMR immunisation. Now I know it might seem odd to be pleased that your child be turned into a pin cushion. But I cannot express the depth of relief and even pleasure I feel about this. For one thing, I’m just thrilled he could have it. By rights, Mr Boo should have had the injection at the beginning of April at 12 months corrected age. And being a ex-premature baby and a vulnerable one because of his ongoing health problems, this was even more important than it would have been had he been born well and at term. It was even more important still, though, because Mr Boo was put on high-dose steroids for his infantile spasms from late December until early February. (To give you an idea, he was on roughly twice the dose an adult with severe arthritis or chronic asthma might be given). This was good for the spasms but greatly compromised his already fragile immune system, as we can tell by the constant stream of nasty bugs he’s had since January (he was remarkably cough, cold, bug free before then). His epilepsy consultant told us when he was put on the steroids that if he came into contant with chicken pox, mumps or measles for three months (yes, three months) after he’d finished the steroid course, we had to get him admitted to hospital immediately. These childhood illnesses could kill him. No chicken pox parties for us then! But, and here’s another killer, the steroids that made him so vulnerable to these infections also meant he couldn’t receive any live vaccines. So, no MMR until 6 weeks after the date he should have received it. With the recent measles outbreak in the UK, I have been so worried that Mr Boo would come into contact with the infection before getting the jabs. I was worried that the ill-informed choices of others could lead to my baby’s death. I know that sounds harsh, but I am unapologetic. Babies should be vaccinated. It is not just for your own children that immunisations are important. We didn’t have a choice. My baby could have died. Getting Mr Boo vaccinated signalled the end (we hope, please, pretty please) of the steroid era and hopefully that he’s on the way to better health. My shoulders have rested half an inch lower since he had the injections. Good news, indeed. As always, if you have any good news, whether you are the parent, a parent of an ex-premature baby or of a child with additional needs, I’d love to hear your good news in the comments section here or on Twitter. Mostly, though, I just hope you have all had some good news this week!

7 thoughts on “Good News Friday #6

  1. Mummy Zen

    That does sound like good news and a relief for you I’m sure now that he is vaccinated.
    My husband and I are going out on a date to the cinema tonight, first time in ages after finally finding a babysitter since moving to a new area – that’s my good news this Friday!

    Reply
  2. oneoffordinary

    I couldn’t agree more. I understand people worrying about immunisations but seeing as the autism link has been thoroughly disproved I wonder why some parents still refuse it?

    A friend’s 8 month old caught measles from an unvaccinated older child. Landed her in hospital and left her with epilepsy. Do you think those choosing not to vaccinate consider the risk they pose to babies under a year?

    My good news today is the fact that we’ve been told we’re entitled to 7-9 hours respite a week.

    Reply
    1. mrboosmum Post author

      Sorry it took me so long to get back to you. I totally agree with you on the immunisations. How awful about your friend’s child. I really don’t think people think enough about under ones and, of course, for them these conditions are terribly dangerous.

      I’m so pleased about the news about respite. This is such an important issue, I’m realising, and it seems so hit and miss whether those who need such help get it. Good news, indeed!

      Reply
  3. aint3113

    I had to laugh at the glasses in the mouth bit. I’m doing much of the same these days. Either pulling them out of the mouth or searching high and low for where he possibly could have thrown this time. Lol. I’m sure Mr Boo didn’t dig his shots, but congrats on getting them for your own good, buddy!

    Reply
    1. mrboosmum Post author

      It’s alternately infuriating and hilarious. I’m so pleased little boy who struggles to use his arms has worked out how to do this. But he has definitely worked out this is a great way to get attention and giggles hilariously when he gets them in his mouth!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

