Liebster Award; or, Getting to Know Me

OK, so this is not the kind of blog post you expect from me. I blog anonymously, and although I share a good deal about myself on the blog (maybe too much?), I do so within fairly narrow parameters. So I thought twice when Mummy Zen nominated me, along with 4 other bloggers, for a Liebster Blog Award. These are awards for bloggers with fewer than 200 followers and those nominated should:
1. answer the questions set for us and link back to Mummy Zen’s blog
2. share 11 random facts about themselves
3. nominate 5-11 other blogs
4. create 11 questions for them to answer
5. tell them they’ve been nominated.
Now, despite being flattered, I wouldn’t write such a post if just anyone asked me to do so. But Mummy Zen? Well, she’s rather lovely and, as any reader of my blogroll will know, she’s one of my favourite bloggers and Twitter buddies.
So here goes. A bit more of me than I thought I’d normally share…
Why did you start blogging?
I started blogging the week after my son, born 11 weeks prematurely in April of last year, turned 1. It was a very emotional time for all of us and it coincided both with the end of a short bout of cognitive behavioral therapy and with the weeks running up to my return to work. You got it. This is partly blogging as therapy.
What are one or two of your favourite blogs to read?
This is tough. And I thought you were nice, Mummy Zen… I guess two of my favourites about prematurity (and life in general) are Not Even a Bag of Sugar and Ain’t No Rollercoaster. Not Even a Bag of Sugar was the first blog on any subject I ever read in my hospital bed on the night Boo was born. I have not stopped reading it since. Ain’t No Rollercoaster is by the wonderful Tatum, who I swear I must have been separated from at birth. She takes things I would say and says them, well…, better!
Who or what inspires you, in life generally?
This will sound corny, but it’s true. My kids. Boo’s determination to do things against the odds and his sister’s love and belief in him get me out of bed every day.
What’s your life philosophy?
Treat others as you would wish to be treated.
What’s your favourite book/movie/song?
Let’s hope no one I know in real life reads this as it’s transparently me, but the answers are: Jane Austen’s Persuasion; Billy Wilder’s The Apartment (I love Jack Lemmon); and Cole Porter’s ‘Night and Day’.
How do you like to spend any time you might get to yourself?
Having some quiet time to read a book. Although I can’t remember when I last did that. I really can’t. Must remedy that asap!
What’s your favourite way to spend quality time together as a family?
I love big days out visiting new places and trying out new things together, but I also love quiet days at home when we’re not distracted by mundane things and can just enjoy being in each others’ company.
What’s your favourite cuisine?
I’m vegetarian, but love most cuisines because I LOVE food. If you put a gun to my head, I’d probably say Italian. No Thai. No Moroccan…
What were you doing pre-children?
Thinking I was terribly busy and not realising how much time I had on my hands.
What do you find most challenging about being a parent?
Trying to be a good role model for my kids.
If money and time were no issue, where would you go on your next holiday?
New Zealand.
11 random facts about me
1. I once met David Tennant at a party. We had a long chat, drank wine and he was wearing a kilt.
2. I only learned to swim as an adult.
3. I like sewing, but don’t like to admit it.
4. I can quote the entire script of the Wizard of Oz (and several other films, especially musicals) verbatim
5. A very fat man once broke my big toe by standing on my foot for about a minute (I was in too much much pain to be able to tell him). I was in France at the time.
6. I have been a vegetarian for 25 years.
7. I have been with my partner for more than half of my life and am not yet forty.
8.  The last time I moved house, I moved 300 yards.
9. I have 3 degrees and have belonged to 4 different universities.
10. I will happily drink tap water but would prefer it if it came out fizzy.
11. I ran my first half marathon in March of this year.
Here are the bloggers I would like to nominate for a Liebster Blog Award
And here are the questions I’d like to ask them:
1. What brought you to blogging in the first place?
2. What keeps you blogging?
3. What makes you laugh?
4. Facebook or Twitter?
5. What famous person would you most like to go to dinner with?
6. If you could go back in time to any period when would it be?
7. If I could plug you in Matrix-style and teach you a new skill at the touch of a button, what would you like to learn to do?
8. What’s your favourite season?
9. Has having children changed you and, if so, how?
10. What gets you through the difficult times?
11. What do you like most about yourself?
4 thoughts on “Liebster Award; or, Getting to Know Me

  1. Mummy Zen

    I’m so glad you felt like you couldn’t decline and went ahead with the post! Thanks so much for answering my questions and sharing such fascinating facts about yourself. I really do enjoy reading and hearing about fellow bloggers/parents and finding out more about them. A drink with David Tennant who was wearing a kilt at the time? Wow! 😉

    Reply
  2. Tatum

    Congrats on the well deserved Liebster Award! Thank you for the love! As if I didn’t like you enough…Jane Austen, Persuasion! That was my Liebster Award answer to favorite book too. I love Jane Austen, but Persuasion is THE best. So nice to know a little more about you.

    Reply
    1. mrboosmum Post author

      You like Jane Austen, too? Seriously: we must have been separated at birth. I had read Persuasion so many times (and I teach it regularly, too) but I never tire of it. In fact I like it better every time I read it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

