Some Hopes for the Holidays

I may have already mentioned (about a gazillion times – I’m not bitter, really) that this two-week holiday I’m about to embark on is only the second I’ve taken since The Grumposaur and I got together 19 years ago and the first since having the kids. I am very excited, but to be frank, I’m also nervous. What if it doesn’t work? What if it’s too difficult for Boo not being at home? By the time you read this, I’ll have some sense of how it’s panning out, but you’ll have to wait to find out the official verdict at the end of the two weeks.

For now, here are some of my hopes for the holidays:

1) That we all get on. We so rarely get to spend time all four of us together that this is really going to test our family dynamic. Let’s hope we’re all still speaking at the end of it!

2) That Boo sleeps. Shut eye isn’t Boo’s strong suit. Add an unfamiliar bedroom (which he’ll be sharing with his sister – how could that go wrong?) and a travel cot and … Oh Lordy! Of course, we won’t have to get up for anything in particular if we have some bad nights, but fingers crossed we’ll all get some shut eye. We need it.

3) That spending so much time with Boo, with no work or few other regular domestic distractions, might just give his development the helping hand it needs.

4) That spending so much time with Boo will help The Grumposaur develop a keener understanding of his challenges, how to handle him, and how bloody amazingly he is doing.

5) That Sissyboo has the most amazing time. She deserves it. If you read this blog regularly you’ll know why.

6) That The Grumposaur and I can find time to be ourselves, not the selves that are defined by our work, our children, or our caring responsibilities.

7) That we will think it was such a good idea that we plan to do it all again next year.

3 thoughts on “Some Hopes for the Holidays

  1. Mummy Zen

    I’m sure you will all benefit from having some time away, a change of scene and quality time together. Enjoy and I look forward to hearing all about it once you’re back!

    Reply
  2. Orli D

    Honestly I can relate to most of your holiday-hopes. To tell you the truth, we’ve never managed to accomplish all of them, except the first and last one 🙂 But seriously, don’t put too much pressure on yourself, just try and relax, because with so much riding on 2 weeks, they will probably won’t be able to live up to your expectation (trust me on that one. So from experience). I am keeping my fingers crossed for you, but if i were you I would aim for number 1, 5, 6, 7 🙂
    (The sleep thing is tough. But every three days or so they are tired enough to fall asleep nicely)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

