Good News Friday #21

Where did that week go? September is back and time has sped up. Again. It’s quite alarming. But it’s been a really good week and not as difficult to see the wood for the trees as it sometimes is. So here’s the woody good news from Boo Land this week.

 
1) Back to school. Now don’t get me wrong. I miss having Sissyboo around. I have enjoyed the summer holidays, despite having to work through much of it. But she was ready to go back. She wanted to go back. Despite being a parent who has never imposed a particular routine (except around meal times and bed time) on my kids, they both want and need them. Sissyboo was ready for bells telling her the time and certain activities at certain times of the day. She was really excited about being a big girl in year 1 (where did the time go?). 
 
Me? Well I didn’t bother to think if I was emotionally ready for the new year because I was too bloomin busy reading the 1000 emails from school about which days were PE days, when show and tell was, how to select an appropriate toy for this term’s learning project, learning targets … Oh and the labels. The bloody labels that I carefully unpicked from last year’s uniform and sewed into this. I got there eventually and we were ready. But I did get slightly misty eyed on Wednesday when I dropped her off. Her? Not so much as a backwards glance. That must be good news. She’s happy.
 
2) Boo has been assessed for the various bits he needs to fit his Breezi chair and even just with all the tightening and finessing the lovely rep, Les, did, Boo is able to sit well in it, even feeding himself sweetcorn rings. Once the chest straps in there’ll be be no stopping him! 
 
3) Conductive Education is a goer. We feel so lucky to have been offered a place for Boo at a Conductive Education centre of excellence for 3 hours a week. We visited the centre on Thursday and were really impressed by the friendliness and commitment of all the people we met and the facility itself, which is fabulous. While we talked to the head of early years, a teacher played with Boo doing the kind of learning through play activities we will be working on in the sessions. He had a ball and giggled incessantly for an hour and a half! We start in a couple of weeks. And I’m very excited!
 
4) And finally, and I know I’ve blogged about it already but I don’t very often get to do milestone boasts, so do forgive me, Boo can now roll from front to back. It’s so thrilling to see him do it, although he is now more frustrated than ever that he can’t roll back to front. Some day, Boo, some day!
 
Right: now your turn. I hope you have some good news this week, too. Do let us know via the comments box below. We LOVE to hear from you!

 

6 thoughts on “Good News Friday #21

  1. Orli D

    Really great news :). Really happy for you about the Conductive Education. I hope it goes well and will do its magic. Mine are that I have survived the first day of year 4 (and the second), have survived 2 days with my parents so far (and that they are here) and that Yon is being very well behaved without Ron (was not a sure thing).
    Have a wonderful (and dry) weekend!

    Reply
  2. Iona@redpeffer

    So delighted you got the conductive education place, great news. Forgot to tell you that when I read it before (I think). My good news is that my daughter said to me yesterday that she can’t wait to go to school on Monday. I have never ever heard her say that, for us this is huge and makes me unbelievably happy.

    Reply
  3. lollinski

    What a lovely positive week for you. My little man also started school without so much as s backward glance or a wave in Mummy’s direction. I’m now enjoying some girlie time with Chlo while he’s out all day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

