Good News Friday #31 and #32

Yes, Good News Friday was overlooked last week. Blame Katie Price. I was so deeply upset by her ill-judged interview with Radio 5 in which she condemned many parents of disabled children as too ‘lazy’ to access the resources they needed, that when Hayley at Downs Side Up set up a linky, well, I had to address that rather than focus on good news.

But there has been some. Lots. So much, in fact, that this going to be an edited highlights and I will flesh out some of the other stuff (like what Boo’s been up to in conductive education) for other posts next week.

Sissyboo

My fabulous no-so-little girl turned 6 this week. It’s been a week of celebrations, with presents and a family tea with just us four Boos on Wednesday, veggie hotdogs and cheesecake (not all at once, you understand) and a party with a few school friends tomorrow and grandparents and the little Boo’s favourite female other than Mummy, my sister. She really is in a good place at the moment in terms of Boo and the way she wanted to share him in all her birthday fun (getting him to help unwrap presents and blow out the candles – two things that are very difficult for him), well, let’s just say it made my day.

Boo

Well, I leave you hanging on what’s going on with Boo at conductive education. One for Small Steps Amazing Achievements next week, I think. But things are slowly coming together with equipment. His standing frame unexpectedly arrived about an hour ago. And after nearly breaking my back to get it into the kitchen, it’s all ready to set up. Even more exciting, his chair arrives next Tuesday and after many months, our wheelchair services referral came through for him to be assessed for an adapted buggy. All of these things will greatly improve his life and ability to be included in games, meals and things most of take for granted. It has been a real battle, but it’s coming together. 

The blog

OK, so first a post of mine in support of Home-Start’s fabulous Snowflake Appeal got put on the Good Housekeeping website, and tweeted about by Kirstie Allsop. Then I won a blogging competition! I am still gobsmacked about it. I am very proud to be a member of the Mum Network Trusted Bloggers Club and a few weeks ago I entered an autumn carnival on the theme of ‘The Juggle of Modern Motherhood’, where I wrote about a day in my life. It was an entirely real day. The carnival had some amazing entries and the fact I won (and won a ticket to Britmums Live) is just astonishing to me. Now I just have to work out how being a secret/anonymous blogger works with attending a blogging conference. Answers on a postcard please.

World Prematurity Day

The big news this week is that it’s World Prematurity Day on Sunday. This time last year, I was too much in the thick of prematurity to think about contributing to the day, but this year, I have written a post on Bliss’s wonderful theme of The Impossible Hug and a post where I try and explain what prematurity means to me. called Why Prematurity is Like The Matrix. I’m also very much looking forward to attending a reception highlighting research into prematurity hosted by Tommy’s and Bounty at the House of Commons on Monday. I’ll let you know how it goes. Now, do I have a frock that still fits…

OK, over to you. I’d love to hear your good news this week. 

And please, this weekend, do spare a thought or any pennies you have for any of the leading charities working to prevent pre-term birth or fund special care for some of the 15 million children born too soon across the world every year.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Good News Friday #31 and #32

  1. jennie

    Hello, just wanted to say that I will also be at the reception on Monday and would love to say hello x I will be the terrified one in the corner and will have a red Matilda Mae bag and red shoes x

    Reply
  2. Journeys of The Zoo

    I didn’t write about prematurity this year (but did last, http://www.journeysofthezoo.com/2012/11/prematurity-awareness-30weeks-gestation.html). I’ve recently written two posts about the passing of my son and I am spent.

    My triplets were born at 30w3d. While not the same story as Boo, I can relate to the waiting (read your diagnosis post) and life in the NICU. It’s unfortunate that anyone has to experience this but it’s a part of our story and there’s nothing I can do to change that.

    I’m a new follower of your blog via Bloglovin. Feel free to link up to my weekly Bloglovin hop if you’d like to make some new friends (http://www.journeysofthezoo.com/2013/11/bloglovin-hop-november14.html).

    Besos, Sarah
    Blogger at Journeys of The Zoo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

