A Tale of Two Nicus: Part I

In my second Throwback Thursday, here’s the start of our NICU story. I’ve never gone back to the out of area NICU Boo spent his first two weeks in. But one day I will be able to I hope. To thank them for all they did for him and us.

Premmeditations

OK, so where was I before I got distracted? Oh yes: in the NICU.

How could I forget? It’s not like I’ve really left there. I can still hear the bings, bongs and high-pitched screams of the monitors when I close my eyes, see the waves of respiratory rate ebb and flow, and most of all, I can smell it, that simultaneously hygienic and nauseating smell of hand soap. I sometimes wonder if I’ll ever leave that place or more accurately those places. For ours is a tale of two NICUs.

Seeing Mr Boo for the first time was amazing. He was small (although at 3lbs 11oz at 29 weeks, not that small), but he was perfect in my eyes. I was elated and couldn’t believe how I’d spent much of the night before worrying I wouldn’t bond with him or that it couldn’t be possible to love him as…

View original post 1,936 more words

Leave a Reply

