Getting Over Being Overwhelmed

It ‘a Throwback Thursday and here’s a post I wrote this week last year. Things have changed in so many ways since, but the feeling of drowning and momentarily coming up for air are very current.

Premmeditations

I woke up this morning full of optimism. I’d had a reasonable night’s sleep by my paltry standards, my fab Homestart volunteer was coming to give me a couple of hours to catch up with myself, and I was going to get lots done. Heck, the sun even came out in smpathy.

But within a few hours, that all-too-familiar tidal wave of anxiety came over me. The knot in my stomach drew tighter. I was drowning. I had prescriptions to sort out, appointments to chase, emergency childcare to arrange when it turned out that the two next week, which I’d been assured would be mid-morning, clashed with school pick-up. I had a DLA form to complete (the shortest road to depression I have yet encountered – it’ll hit you by page 3 guaranteed) and two carers forms to fill out. I even had to chase a 3-month old referral to…

View original post 350 more words

Leave a Reply

