The Chaos of SEN Childcare

I can’t believe this post is a year old. Since then I have been proud to give evidence with other parents and disabled young people to the Parliamentary Inquiry into disabled childcare. And I am still at a loss. Our own childcare situation has worsened since in ways I haven’t explained fully on the blog and may do so more. Maybe we will get the statement we have applied for. Maybe it will help. The new SEND reforms are supposed to make a difference. I hope they do. But I fear it will take a long time to put into practice the promises it makes and still longer to change the attitudes of those who think I make a choice to work (interesting word – although I accept many in my position have no choice at all, and I realise I am lucky). These people also clearly think I made the wrong choice and so must live with the consequences. I feel at an impasse. I feel lost. I feel like I can’t go on like this some days. But I feel I owe it to my kids to keep our home, keep within the area do my daughter can go to school with the friends. I feel lost.

Premmeditations

I am Mrboosmum and I am a working parent. I feel like I have to write that in the style of a group therapy confession. Not that I feel I need to talk that way to other parents of kids with special educational needs. To be honest, most conversations I have with mums who have kids with disabilities or additional needs go like this:

Them: So you work then?

Me [on the defensive, thinking they will judge me]: Yes, but my employer is understanding and I am fortunate enough to work flexibly to minimise the effects on Boo. I take him to all his appointments.

Them: Oh, I’m not judging you. You have to do what’s right for your family. I’d give anything to be able to work some of the time.

or

Them: Oh I’m not judging you. I tried to but couldn’t make it work…

View original post 1,267 more words

Leave a Reply

