World Cerebral Palsy Day 2013

I can’t believe it ‘a World Cerebral Palsy Awareness Palsy Day today. Here is a post I wrote last year for that day. A year one, we’re still learning, but it has become part of our lives now. If only others could accept it as we do.

Premmeditations

Wednesday 2 October 2013 is a big day for us. Boo will be exactly 18 months old (actual, not corrected), it will be 6 months to the day since I wrote my very first blog post, and it’s World Cerebral Palsy Day.

World Cerebral Palsy Day is a great initiative. I’m a big fan of awareness days and weeks. I’ve written in support of several (World Meningitis Day, Volunteers Week, Carers Week, National Breastfeeding Week) since starting this blog and World Prematurity Day in November is looming large in my mind at present.

But at the same time, I worry that awareness days and weeks have their limits. I worry that for each of those to whom advocates manage to speak, there are many others who don’t hear or listen, or who do, but when the days or weeks have past, lose sight of…

View original post 1,441 more words

Leave a Reply

