Good News Friday #11

This blog is 11 weeks old today. This means it is as old as Boo was premature. Now there’s pause for thought….

It’s hard realising this. So much has happened in the last 11 weeks (I’ve gone back to work, started a blog, seen Boo’s neuro for the first time, got a date for his big diagnostic tests – on Monday, gulp – etc. etc) that it’s really brought home just how very early he was. I feel acutely how much he missed out on. The balloons we put up for his first on 2 April are still hung up, but they are shrivelled, small, and sad. Frequently over the past nearly three months, I have felt as deflated as they look.

But blogging has also made the past 11 weeks (and dealing with the last 14.5 months) so much easier to get through than they might have been. It really is the best form of therapy I’ve found and the people who read this blog or chat to me on Facebook or interact on Pinterest (yes, I have joined Pinterest) make it all so much more bearable.

In more good news from Boo Land, Father’s Day, which coincided with what should have been Boo’s first birthday passed off much better than anticipated and we were able to celebrate the good things that have happened over the last year or so. Best news of all for me is that I don’t have to go through the run of anniversaries (birthday, day he got meningitis, day he nearly died, day he came home, section date, due date) until the spring of next year. Please tell me it gets easier…

We’ve had some lovely physio and Portage sessions this week. Boo is still very far behind where he should be, but he progresses all the time. He did some supported steps for the first time ever on Monday and the smile still can’t be wiped from my face. Maybe he will be able to walk, a little, just maybe. (I’ll tell you more next week in a post I’m planning to link up to Small Steps, a new linky starting next Wednesday run by Ethan’s Escapades). He’s also had lots of fun using some sensory apps on the iPad.

In other good (actually unbelievable) news, I won two (yes: two) prizes in Sissyboo’s school summer fair raffle last weekend. One is a meal for two with wine at a pub about 400 yards away. So if I can find a babysitter, and Boo cooperates, that means The Grumposaur and I can go out for the second time in nearly 15 months! (I clearly need to read my own post on respite more often). Who says we’re unlucky?

And I got out for a run yesterday evening for 30 minutes. Boy, I’ve lost a whole bunch of fitness what with the injury I got after doing my half marathon for Bliss, the demands of work and one thing and another, but I want to keep it up if I can. I find that I need to be as strong as I can mentally and physically to get through the day-to-day and, for me, running helps. In any case, I badly want to do more fundraising for Bliss. I will do it!

Over to you. Most of you will be at Britmums Live today and tomorrow, but if you aren’t or are playing hooky, I’d love to hear your good news in the comments box below.

9 thoughts on “Good News Friday #11

  1. Christina E (@Beadzoid)

    Great news about the supported steps!! I’m so pleased for you.
    Little pieces of light among the shade is so important, isn’t it? Somehow keeps you going. But that is a major one 😀 Hooray!

    As for good news, I actually don’t have any. It’s been a rubbish week, but I’m sure next week will be better! I’m actually popping into a local fete tomorrow and you’ve just inspired me to have a go on the tombola – have to confess I’ve already got my Euro millions ticket! 😀 x

    Reply
    1. mrboosmum Post author

      Hello! It’s great to hear from you. We tweeps and bloggers miss you. But I’m sorry you have had such a rubbish week. The only way is up, I guess. Really hope that tombola worked for you

      Reply
  2. Jane

    Thank you so much for the mention. I can’t wait to read all about it :0). I also need to talk to you about those apps lol

    Reply
  3. Sarah lou mum of two

    Sooooo glad to hear the weekend passed un- eventfully for you … in the nicest possible way ! … had to say i did chuckle at the balloon comment I regulaly feel like that and we also have month old hellium ballons now rolling along the floor … any thing to keep the peace ! Not much excitement this week for us ( which is a really good thing i should add) donkey riding therapy for my little lady and her twinny today … went down well except for twinny who screamed her way round !!! Itwas really great im sure you can imagine the delight :-/

    Reply
    1. mrboosmum Post author

      Lovely to hear from you! I can, indeed, imagine the delight. I’ve been doing some reading about donkey and horse riding therapy. It sounds really lovely and beneficial. Maybe when Boo’s older… Have a great weekend.

      Reply
  4. Sarah lou mum of two

    Oops hit the comment box before i had finished !! Just wanted to say how fantastic he has taken supported steps !!! You must be just over the moon !!! And rightly so every little thing in the right direction is just magical 🙂 happy weekend x

    Reply
    1. mrboosmum Post author

      Oh and I hit reply too soon, too. Yes, it is lovely to see his progress. Sometimes it seems glacial to others (and to me) but it is there and it gives me glimpses into a good future for him. And that makes me a very happy lady!

      Reply
  5. Mummy Zen

    Some brilliant news from your end this week! Wonderful about Boo’s supported steps and so glad you’ve had a chance to go for a run, something just for you!

    My good news is I finally feel close to my normal healthy self again, after suffering from food poisoning earlier this week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

